Royal Climate change SOS

May 5, 2007 at 4:05 pm | Posted in Business summit, Climate change, England, HRH the Prince of Wales, London, Royalty | Leave a comment

A speech by HRH The Prince of Wales at the May Day Business Summit on Climate Change, St. James’s Palace, London

1st May 2007

Good morning ladies and gentlemen, and welcome all of you to this May Day Business Summit on Climate Change. When I was serving in the Royal Navy – rather a long time ago now I have to admit – “May Day, May Day, May Day” was the distress call used in cases of emergency. It still is – and this is an emergency we face. I fear this event – which I am told is unique – is rather my fault – my own meddling fault! – owing to the fact I asked a marketing expert how the message about climate change could be spread more widely amongst the business community using the experience of communication experts.

Not knowing what the reaction would be, I cannot begin to tell you how pleased I am that so many of you – more than a thousand! – have taken time out of your busy lives to take part. You are all business leaders of real influence drawn from every sector and, with your help today, I am sure that we are going to make a real difference to combatting climate change in this country.

Read full speech on HRH Prince of Wales site …

Closing remarks by The Prince of Wales at the May Day Business Summit on Climate Change, St James’s Palace, London

1st May 2007

This has been a most encouraging day. Encouraging for me personally to hear so many business leaders respond so positively to the challenge of climate change, and surely encouraging for everyone ‘out there’ who is concerned – as 91 per cent of the population are said to be – by the threat that climate change poses to our way of life.

There was an overwhelming acknowledgement at the beginning of the day that climate change is real, that it’s caused by human activity and that it poses a major issue for individuals, for businesses and for Governments. There does seem to have been a real shift in thinking on all these points over the last few years.

But pushing buttons on key pads and agreeing that action needs to be taken is one thing. Deciding what to do is quite another, particularly for the people who lead businesses and have serious responsibilities – to their shareholders, their employees and their customers.

Read full closing remarks on HRH Prince of Wales site …

P.S. I found these links after another site linked to my own Mayday Mayday Mayday! Low carbon business summit. When I wrote that post, I did not even know Prince Charles had used this SOS call in his speech. Years ago, I designed digital communications systems for the Royal Navy, so perhaps that was why the Mayday distress signal was the first thing to pop into my mind when I read HRH had spoken on that day to urge business leaders to do more to combat climate change.

😎

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

