Windsor Great Park reopens today! Yip-a-dee-doo-dah!

November 6, 2007 at 7:29 am | Posted in Autumn, Crown Estate, Fall, Ferns, Foliage, Forests, My photos, Signs, Swinley Forest, Trees, Walking, Windsor Great Park, Woodlands | 2 Comments

Zip-a-dee-doo-dah, zip-a-dee-ay
My, oh my what a wonderful day!

Yesterday I drove through Windsor Great Park twice, and stopped to take this photograph:

Windsor Great Park cow parsley and oak under dramatic morning sky 5 November 2007

Further east, through the deciduous woodlands, russet and gold leaves were tumbling in occasional breezes as autumnal confetti, forming an impression I hope to remember forever.

Foot and mouth disease precautions have required the closure of Windsor Great Park to the public for the past two months. I have missed walking in the park so much, that I ended up stopping at the Look Out, outside the FMD surveillance zone, on my way home. A brief walk here, in another part of the Crown Estate, Swinley Forest, was glorious.

Crown Estate Swinley Forest mixed woodland 5 November 2007

Crown Estate Swinley Forest sign 5 November 2007

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wonderful photos!

  2. Dear bitpixie,

    I appreciate your comment. Yes, these are great scenes, and we are so fortunate to have them nearby. I have so many photos from these sites, and so little time to post them on my flickr account. Perhaps one day …


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

