Palace of Westminster aka Houses of Parliament London at night

March 7, 2008 at 3:37 pm | Posted in Ayrton Light, Big Ben, Clock Tower, Government, green, Houses of Parliament, Lantern, London, Night, Palace of Westminster, Photography, Reflections, River Thames, Sightseeing, Tourism | 4 Comments
Postcard from the Houses of Parliament aka Palace of Westminster London at night 6 March 2008

Apart from having to gracefully decline the request of a tramp who wanted some change for a euphemistic ‘cup of tea’, or alternatively was interested in taking my coffee that I had temporarily perched on top of the wall, the taking of this photograph was uneventful. I wonder what MPs were voting on last night?  [Update: well, the Lords were not up late.  “House adjourned at 5.10 pm.”  And the Commons were not hanging around either.  “Adjourned accordingly at twenty-six minutes past Six o’clock.”  That’s why the Ayrton light shone green at 18:10 for my photos 😉  I was just lucky …]

Postcard of Clock Tower the Houses of Parliament London at night 6 March 2008
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great colors.. the green trim at the top.. with the gold of the building itself.. marvelous. Good work.

  2. Thanks. Just lucky I guess.
    .
    My daughter and I were admiring these colours earlier this evening. Funny thing is that I cannot remember the sky being that blue yesterday. The lower image is just as I imported it from my camera, though I did crop a few heads belonging to passers-by off the lower edge!

  3. Yes, nice shots inel. London can be such a pretty city.

  4. As I was saying in the other post, the green zone above the clock faces is just part of the Clock Tower’s usual illumination; the Ayrton light is actually the small white spot near the top.

    The green certainly contributes to the beautiful image we are seeing here; there’s nothing wrong with a plain gold lighting, but it wouldn’t be nearly as exciting.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

