Give and Take, by Roger McGough

April 23, 2008 at 7:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Give and Take, by Roger McGough

I give you clean air
You give me poisonous gas
I give you mountains
You give me quarries

I give you pure snow
You give me acid rain
I give you spring fountains
You give me toxic canals

I give you a butterfly
You give me a plastic bottle
I give you a blackbird
You give me a stealth bomber

I give you abundance
You give me waste
I give you one last chance
You give me excuse after excuse after excuse.

taken from Feeling the Pressure, the Poetry & Science of Climate Change, published by the British Council Switzerland in 2008.

I heard about this Climate Change Anthology from the Tyndall Centre RSS feed in Poets’ Feeling The Pressure of Climate Change.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Inel, thanks for posting that poem. It speaks volumes. And thanks for the links.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

