Fullest brightest moon for 50 years and Moonglow

December 13, 2008 at 4:58 am | Posted in Moon | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

The lads and I went outside at 21:48 last night and waited. Dark grey storm clouds raced overhead and wisps of cloud trails wafted past the dim glow. Then we saw it—the largest brightest full moon in 50 years radiant in all its glory, unveiled momentarily at 21:55 and visible off-and-on amidst swathes of fast-moving rainclouds:

Largest brightest full moon overhead in 50 years Windsor 12 December 2008

Largest brightest full moon overhead in 50 years Windsor 12 December 2008

Update: thanks to Grandma for reminding us, when she saw this photo, that one of Grandad’s all-time favourite songs is Moonglow. Here are the lyrics (and you should hear him singing it to Grandma!):

MOONGLOW

It must have been moonglow
way up in the blue.
It must have been moonglow
that led me straight to you.

I still hear you saying
“Dear one, hold me fast”
and I started praying
“Oh Lord, please let this last.”

We seemed to float
right through the air,
heavenly songs
seemed to come from everywhere.

And now when there’s moonglow
way up in the blue
I always remember
that moonglow gave me you.

We seemed to float
right through the air,
heavenly songs
seemed to come from everywhere.

And now when there’s moonglow
way up in the blue
I always remember
that moonglow gave me you …
that moonglow gave me you …
that moonglow gave me you.

~ Will Hudson, Eddie DeLange & Irving Mills

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

